Laid Off


Well, I’ve been laid off.  I have no clue what I’ll do with myself now, but frankly as it happened about 24 hours ago, I got a decent package, and I married really well, I’m under no pressure to worry.  It’s now mid-morning, and I thought I’d start one of these blog things and see how it goes.

So, here we are.  I could talk about anything, huh?  My feelings about getting laid off?  I saw this coming, and am quite relieved actually.  I’m as prepared as I could be – resume up to date, LinkedIn profile and job search engines chugging away, contacts and referrals as out there as I’m comfortable with.

Of course I know it’s not easy out there, and finding something may be something of a challenge.  I’m torn:  while my Type-A old man said “you need to move as quickly as possible” and laid out a course of action, my understanding wife (who may not understand the potentiality of complete and utter destruction of my will to do anything) says I should take a month or two off and just enjoy being away from that place.

I remember the last real job I left, back in the early days of Web 1.0, and when I was in my house alone it felt incredibly cut off.  But now I don’t feel so “outside” now, what with Facebook and the like.  I guess I wanted to kick this off so that I can keep that connection with folks in another way.

So, for anyone who’s interested, stay tuned!

Doug

Comments
2 Responses to “Laid Off”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] my kids were 4 and 2, I got laid off. It was a good job – although there had been quite a bit of travel at various points, it […]



Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    June 2009
    S M T W T F S
        Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 8 other followers

