My Novel Approach


During my daily writing, I found myself venting in humorous ways, and decided to turn those ventings into a story.  It now seems to me that, as time goes on, may even become a novel.  It’s basically the journal of a soul in Hell – a soul condemned to an eternity of office drudgery amidst the politics and torture from the demons above him.

It’s about 1/3 done now, and the remainder is starting to take shape in an outline.  It really started as something cathartic, but as I look back on what I’ve written so far (the first chapter is basically an awful descriptive of what it’s like to work in an office in Hell) I think it’s quite good.  Objective, no?

I have told a couple of folks this.  Usually I’m met with silence, so I have no idea what people’s first reaction is to that.  I was talking about this with someone the other day – I had been wanting to do a humorous look at Hell for some time, but just didn’t have the story.  Once I decided to set a (slightly) exaggerated* perspective on some of my acquaintances there, and decided on a story about corporate stupidity, well, it all just started to come together.

So we’re well into the plot, and the intrigue is being laid out.  I am pretty sure, except for a couple of details about a major character I really need to decide very very soon, how the intrigue will progress.  I know what the denouement will be, and I am kind of tickled with how it will end (in general) though those are mostly shadows and rough silhouettes edged with glare.

So, this will be brief, so I can get back to it.  Thought I’d put a little teaser out there.  Get you folks interested – even those couple of you who have read what I had a few weeks back, it’s changed a bit since then.  Stay tuned!

* Legal Disclaimer: The story does not, in fact, intend to portray any individual, group or organization.  The author has simply combined aspects of various people in his lifetime, and if resulting amalgams are taken personally, just get over it already!
Leave a Reply

  • Calendar

    July 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 8 other followers

