Resume Collateral, or Here’s Doug!


 I have gotten a lot of attention from a piece I wrote a couple of weeks ago titled My, What An Impressive Resume You Have. The attention it got was mainly from a Career Coach named Brian Patrick Cork, who linked to my article from his own professional site.

Being a dutiful job hunter, I sent Brian my resume, with a note expressing how I hoped we could work together. There were relevant postings on his own site, and I figured I would maximize my opportunities.

I got a very cryptic message in response:

Good morning Doug.

In truth, you have a good history. But, your message, in terms of “who needs you” is invisible. So, that makes you the same.

That would probably make for a good blog post. Don’t you dare take the idea!

My fulfillment team manages most candidate first contact and interviews. But, if you are not happy with your career-path or progress, we can discuss you using me as a coach. There is a lot of affirmative information about that on our business blogsite. So, if this is of interest to you let me know and we can connect over that.

brian patrick cork
cultural architect

I was curious, so I have exchanged in a little back and forth with this “cultural architect” and his team. But as I was watching his own readers link to my site, I was curious to see where they were coming from. In fact, Brian wrote about me again, using me as an example of what not to do in his own site – about how my “who needs you” is invisible.

So, turnabout being fair play, and while distinctly NOT taking his idea, I figured I would respond in my own way.

Actually, I signed on today to write a follow-up to that original post, which had been inspired by the original article, 27 Examples of Impressive Resume Designs. Those resume designs had been stuck in my head for some time. I knew that with my own natural combination of analysis and marketing skills I could design my own graphics and thus enhance my own resume.

I only got distracted by the Brian Cork issue – although I do hope I have addressed what he meant, I have primarily been focused on how to leverage this inspiration. Some of you may note some changes to my home page – this is a start, limited only by the constraints of WordPress.com. ( I may have to go to another program and create a new home page (and other pages) in HTML directly, now that the site seems to be growing. But we’ll get there.)

But over the past two days, I have pulled together my very own fact sheet – an 8½” by 11” graphic version of my own resume. Actually, it is just an add-on piece to the resume. But before I reveal it, just a few comments:

  • First, I am no graphic designer, though I do think this came out well. I used only free tools available in my own edition of Microsoft Office (and related Web searching), primarily Word.
  • Second, this is not to be mistaken for a resume. It is purely a marketing piece, with myself as the subject. (I need a job, and frankly that ugly opportunity I faced the other day has me re-energized. Thankfully one of my favorite irons heated up just that same day.) In cases when appropriate, I may choose to add this piece alongside my resume. I think I’ll also be marketing it through this site, trying to build my own brand, as it were.
  • Third, any suggestions are welcome. Share it around!

So, without any further ado, here is my new full-color resume add-on marketing collateral:

  

 You will soon see this document elsewhere on this site, as well as through other professional social networking sites.  Look for it, and share it with your colleagues!

Download a PDF version of Doug’s resume collateral

 

 

Front and back of a marketing collateral piece to be used alongside resume in some situations.

Comments
8 Responses to “Resume Collateral, or Here’s Doug!”
  1. Brian Patrick Cork says:

    Hello Douglas.

    Belinda gave me a heads-up that you had linked-back to us with this article.

    Just so we are clear, I liked the article you wrote about media content rich resumes. But, I don’t actually endorse them. They can’t be uploaded to most information systems, and the media can easily be corrupted by a wide-varierty of email clients and browsers. The only solution for that is PDF. But, that can drop-kick the document files into many SPAM folders.

    The author of such creations also runs the risk of offending a decision-maker that does not share your unique aesthetic tastes. Obviously, the other side is true, as well.

    The ONLY time we recommend such a resume format is for people in creative disciplines – and then only upon request. For example, my own search and recruiting company would never submit such a document to one of our clients. We deliver job-specific FACT Sheets.

    For the record, I also coach not to be tempted to share a resume until you have a complete Job Description on-hand. At that point you can score yourself against relevancy and then customize your resume to what the hiring decision-maker is specifically looking for, providing you score yourself accurately and high-enough.

    Finally, as I had mentioned in my email exchange with you, I felt your resume failed to clearly inspire “who needs you”. I can’t express how critically important this is. And, that clarity is so much more valuable than a creative and colorful document that might actually distract the reader from recognizing your vital and mission-specific credentials.

    I don’t mean to be a buzz-kill, here. I feel that you are passionate and keen to make a difference. I’m sure the right employer would be well-served by your addition. But, I think maybe this type of resume sends the wrong message more often than it might signal a great match.

    Brian Patrick Cork
    briancorkhumancapital.com

    • Doug says:

      I am not going to argue with any of those points – good ones all. That being said, this piece is not intended to replace a resume in any situation – I am not a graphic designer and a visual resume would not be appropriate for the positions I seek.

      But I’m not sure there is no use for such a piece – in any marketing campaign a mix of materials works best, and although a mix of targeted materials works even better, I have been targeting my resume and cover letter for every job opening. I thought that, IN SOME CASES, this piece might be a good introduction. Before I send the resume.

      I don’t have any answers here – I’m just a dude testing different things as I find my way towards that new ideal career position. But the situation is not a perfect one – getting discovered is not so much of an issue, it is standing out from the crowd that is the real trick. Hiring managers use the application/interview process not to find the perfect candidate, but to weed out the least qualified, and often that weeding process is fast and heavy.

      A job candidate needs to do a lot more today to land that right opportunity, and most of that is in the neighborhood of “go out and make it happen”. Relying only on the resume and cover letter is not the answer.

      I have taken care to build up a portfolio to bring with me on interviews, for when I do make it that far into the process. I study the company and prepare good questions. But I am not a salesman, not a schmoozer – I naturally fall towards the modest end of the spectrum, and frankly I hate having to sell myself.

      Will this piece help me? Maybe not. It might even hurt me if I use it inadvisably. But if I use it as a marketing tool, trying to increase awareness, there might be an upside.

      And finally, remember that every new idea, every innovative concept began from a position of risk, and only got recognition until it proved successful in the marketplace. For the unemployed – in a market where the hiring manager holds all the cards – the job hunter is competing against countless faceless better-qualified candidates, and aiming to strike just the perfect social chord. The hunter can play a guessing game, or take a risk – calculated, logical risks may be the best of both worlds.

      Again, I don’t know the answer. But I’m always happy to hear what everyone thinks.

  2. Jurate says:

    I can’t believe the rudeness of Mr. Cork in his communication style (“Call me if you need more clarification. But, most of you won’t because you are waiting for the job to come to you, as opposed to finding the “perfect job” – aka, better don’t bother me, because I’m so above you!), but that is usually how recruiters go. So I decided to leave a quick comment and to say: WOW! Going to stalk your blog until exhaustion, and you got a new fan in Sweden. I’m in the same boat, just longer term. Maybe you and I could start a venture and boot out that Canadian firm out of doing bibliometric studies for European Commission. Thumbs up for your effort, it’s crazy that you need to look for a job at all. I hope you saw https://marketing-jobs.theladders.com/job/jobboard?cr=2615357&pl=s4-M1

    • Doug says:

      Thanks for the kind words Jurate – it’s nice to have a fan anywhere, let alone in one of the forefront countries in bibliometrics. I am well aware of that particular opening and have no intentions on applying, but if the European Commission is willing I’d be more than happy to throw my own analytic style into their mix.

      As for Mr. Cork, all I can say is that everyone has their own style, and anyone who wants to hire a self-proclaimed “cultural architect” would probably be well served by his organization. He does have a business to run, after all, and often people do mistake arrogance for confidence, and confidence for ability.

  3. Jurate says:

    Hah! I unraveled where that link leads to. Sorry! Some new results in my own search today (US has barriers for us Europeans, so it’s a pity): did you see the “SciVal Consultant” on Reed Elsevier’s Taleo site? It would be interesting to read your thoughts on Scival Strata’s potential. National Research Council Canada has 2 positions to fill, too. Pleased to virtually meet you. Oh, and your book! Anywhere I can buy ePUB instead of Kindle?

  4. Doug says:

    Pleased to (virtually) meet you too!

    I have talked with Elsevier about that opening – they are really thinking of it as a sales type position, and I didn’t get the best feeling about the management team while I was talking with them. That being said, I think SciVal has a lot of potential, despite being offered up by the “Evil Empire”.

    Like everything else they do, Elsevier took a concept of ISI’s and spun it around to meet actual needs in the marketplace. While neither their data nor their expertise in the field comes close to what ISI has traditionally had, Elsevier designed the product around actual real-world needs of administrators, instead of just putting up data for the world to see. Neither company seems to have lit up the market with their offerings yet – targeting actual potential buyers and creating must-have positioning has been very tough going for both groups. With ISI apparently searching for a replacement for Henry Small (not to mention a VP for that team’s strategy as well), they are in a position to succeed or fail on a large level. Elsevier has a solid opportunity to create a market for the SciVal suite ahead of ISI, who has been trying to make this happen for over two years now.

    It will indeed be interesting to see how this all plays out.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] so there has been some mixed feedback about my “resume collateral” piece.  Some have liked it, though the (legitimate) question has certainly arisen, “what am I […]

  2. […] been some talk recently about the resume – what its purpose actually is, and how far one should/can go in terms of […]



Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 8 other followers

