Why Do You Have to Go to Work Daddy?


This is the first of a series of articles written for Yahoo Finance.  Read the full article here.

When my kids were 4 and 2, I got laid off. It was a good job – although there had been quite a bit of travel at various points, it provided me ample opportunity to work from home, keep flexible hours, and maintain a healthy work-life balance.

Even so, when I got laid off I was thrilled to be able, among other things, to spend a lot more time with my kids. To take them to and from school, to be home with them when they were sick, to have the energy to take them places on weekends. My kids thought that I would always be there.

Sure, there were interviews and consulting projects and depressive incidents after being turned down for positions. There were activities we couldn’t undertake, because they cost money. But for every time I said “no” to McDonalds, I could take them to the park, or the library.

We had more than two years together. It was a good run.

Read the rest of the article here

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 8 other followers

