How My Seven Year-old Son Has a Healthier Attitude Towards Money Than I Do


This is the second of a series of articles written for Yahoo Finance.  Read the full article here.

I remember when I was a kid – I was certainly older than seven, more like nine or ten – my father would send me out to go buy the newspaper for him. He’d give me a dollar, and even though the Sunday paper cost seventy-five cents he would tell me I could keep the change.

It would take me a good five or ten minutes to decide what kind of candy I wanted to buy with that quarter. There was never a question of my saving that quarter – I would surely be buying a candy bar. Sure, if I had come into some sort of windfall, like a visit from the Tooth Fairy (or my grandmother), I might have enough for a Star Wars figure or a pack of baseball cards or some such. But still, that weekly quarter would never see the inside of my bank; and more often than not, what it purchased would be gone long before I arrived back home, newspaper in hand.

Now, at the age of seven, I might very well have had the same attitude towards my money as my son. After all, I didn’t really have the same opportunity to spend it at that tender age (pun intended). But somehow, I think it is different with my son.

Read the rest of the article here

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 8 other followers

